New with Olympus

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by hsw21, Nov 26, 2014.

1. hsw21

hsw21 Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 7, 2012
    Hi Guys
    Im a newbie in Olympus world.
    I just have a little question regarding their PEN model, EP, EPL and EPM.
    My understading is that the EP is their top of the line (in PEN series) ?, EPL is the Lite version of the EP (Im assuming less feature ?). and EPM is the mini version of the EP ?
    Thats my understanding of those variety of PEN series Oly.
    Am I right about it ? And what model suitable for certain use ?
    Thanks.

2. shermanshen

shermanshen Mu-43 Regular

Jul 28, 2014
    The PM2 and the PL5 are essentially the same camera with a couple key features difference. The key differences being a tilting screen and mode dial on the PL5 (and maybe an extra function button?). That being said, all of the cameras from that generation (EP5, OMD EM5, E PM2, E PL5) all use the same sensor so image quality should be roughly the same. The most recent generation is the PL7 which adds a screen that flips all the way for selfies and 3 axis stabilization. I think the PM model got the axe.

The EP5 on the other hand has 5 axis stabilization and more manual controls. It's a more fully featured camera than the PL7. The cool thing is a used one can be found for about the same price as the PL7. I think if you're a hobbyist, the PL version is great as it combines small size, tilting screen (which I use a ton) and great image quality. However, if it were my money I would go with a used EP5 or a Panasonic GX7 for the same price as a new PL7. You can also find used PL5's for high 200's or low 300's as well.

3. RichardB

RichardB Snapshooter

Nov 19, 2012
    Maryland, US
    Richard
    Yes, you have it. The P has more manual controls and features. The PM is stripped down and smaller. The PL is in between.