New user with dumb questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by dulaney22, Aug 19, 2010.

1. dulaney22

dulaney22 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 18, 2010
    My E-P1 is on the way and, quite frankly, I'm new to everything photography related. I have read and re-read many posts and blogs, but wondered about a few beginner aspects. I got the zoom lens kit, a 50mm OM and 58mm Minolta legacy off ebay (along with adapters) and plan on ordering a spare battery. Other than a case and lcd protector, is there anything essential that I'm missing? I know some people use a UV filter, but I haven't ordered one and wondered if they are necessary? I don't have a tripod, but plan on this being a hand-held shooter.

I hope this hasn't been beaten to death already. I looked for a beginners thread but didn't find one.

Thanks,

Lee

Almost forgot . . . I'm a Mac user. Will iPhoto be ok for RAW files, or do I need to step up to something better?

• Like Like x 2
  2. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman Subscribing Member

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    lee

spare battery is a good thing to have - one is enough unless you are planning to go shooting for days at a time. You should get at 300 shots from a single charge, but batteries being batteries they will run out at the most crucial moment :)

I personally use a UV filter on all my lenses - I never use a lens cap , and it is easier and safer to clean a filter than he front element of your lens.

I never use a case or a LCD protector, and i don't baby my cameras and I have never had a problem with damage to the LCD, sometimes i use a small bag if I am going out with several lenses or I am travelling.

The only accessory i bought for mine was a wrist strap, which i find the best way for me

gordy's camera straps