1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New to the Forum and New to Micro 4/3rds - a GX8 question

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by MDR Foto, Oct 11, 2015.

1. MDR Foto

MDR Foto Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 11, 2015
    Mark Rigsby
    Hello Folks, I'm new to the Micro 4/3rds world and so I decided to jump in feet first. I purchased the GX8 to accompany my sony kit (aerie, RX1 and rx100iV) and I'm a bit torn about it. The GX8 is an incredible camera tech wise, image quality, while good, seems to lack a little contrast and at medium ISO (What I consider Medium now) is very noisy. I understand this is a characteristic of the smaller sensor but I wanted to see if anyone had any tips for cleaning the picture up in Camera so that post is a little easier with high ISO. Besides that, I love the camera, the focusing is lighting face (as fast as, if not faster than my A7rii) and low light focusing is amazing. I absolutely love the touch screen. Only physical thing I'm not a fan of is button placement, I'm usually a back button focusing guy but the AE lock is awkward and I often hit the display button a ton. I'm including a picture form a wedding I shot last night, setting were, Lumix 12-35 f2.8, 28mm, f2.8, ISO 1600, 1/25 sec

No flash since I don't have one yet (also, any flash recommendations would be welcome)

This picture was processed from raw in Lightroom, Photoshop using Noiseless Pro (best software I've used for noise control) - It still took some work to get it this clean but the contrast and colors are several effected.

i-wVZhGpq-L.

2. siftu

siftu Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 26, 2015
    Bay Area, CA
    siftu
    Iso 1600 should be fine. That photo looks like it has way too much NR for me. It's not going to be as clean as your a7rii but should be acceptable. I wouldn't call ISO 1600 pushing the m43's sensors.

3. MDR Foto

MDR Foto Mu-43 Rookie

Oct 11, 2015
    Mark Rigsby