1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

New To MFT - Lens Collection Question

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by bobbywise, Aug 24, 2011.

1. bobbywise

bobbywise Mu-43 Regular

Aug 23, 2011
    Nantes, France
    Hi everyone,

First off, what a great forum. I'm learning so much reading through all the different posts. I'll explain my situation, then follow in with my questions :smile:

I pretty much an absolute beginner. I originally had a Canon 400D, and more recently I got myself a Canon 550D and have a small collection of lenses for that DSLR.

Over the last few months I "stumbled" across the MFT format, I started to learn what's out there (cameras, lenses and adaptors) in terms of the MFT format. I concluded I wanted something compact with great results, and the MFT format seemed to be perfect for that need.

After initially being "put off" by the "cons" mentioned in some of the Panasonic Panasonic GF3 reviews (e.g. no EVF option for example), I had my mind set on getting the Olympus EP3. But after continually waiting for the EP3 to come out, the price difference between the EP3 and GF3, and some reviews reporting "bad high ISO" performance of the EP3, I U-turned on my original decision and went for the Panasonic GF3 14 mm / 14-42 mm Kit. In fact I would have been happy with only the Panasonic GF3 14 mm Kit, but it was not available before my holiday, so I took the plunge on the slightly more expensive twin lens kit just to get the GF3 in time before my holiday.

First off, I'm very impressed with the 14mm/2.5 lens, so I know I'll never get rid of that lens. My plan is to stick to using the MFT format, so I want to invest in some decent lenses.