1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New to m43, what legacy lens should I look for?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Saelee, Feb 10, 2011.

1. Saelee

Saelee Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2011
    I am new to the m43 system. I have a refurbished ep1 that is on the way and I can't wait to play with it.

A few years ago I shot Pentax digital. During the 5 years of shooting Pentax, I acquired a lot of old legacy pentax lens for dirt cheap and most of them where very sharp. I did a lot of research and ended up with a very nice collection. Sadly I sold most of it to fund my Nikon system.

Now the treasure hunt is on again. I like to go to garage sale and flea market to find old lens.

What lens are the highly rated lens that are still cheap? Cheap meaning under $100.

What are the THREE MUST HAVE lens that every m43 user should get?(not the new lens, but the older lens)

2. Krang

Krang Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 19, 2010
    Well there's so much to choose from…

I would start with the remaining pentax(if I understood correctly that you still have some). Then try a C-mount, they are really fun on m4/3, but mostly with quite heavy vignetting. Then maybe some Nikon or Olympus OM.

As for focal lenght I would go for 25, 50 & 80 or 100. Since these focal lengths are available quite cheaply with wide apertures.

3. Narnian

Narnian Nobody in particular ...

Aug 6, 2010
    Midlothian, VA
    Richard Elliott
    It depends on what you like to shoot.

Wildlife? Then 135 to 300 prime lenses offer good value.

Portraits? Then fast 35 to 50 primes are good.

Macro photography? Great deals abound on 50 to 100 macros.

Landscape? This is where it gets tough because of the crop factor of m43. Native lenses work best here in my opinion.