New to M43 and enjoying it so far

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Krigskoen, Jul 1, 2015.

1. Krigskoen

Krigskoen Mu-43 Regular

Jun 10, 2015
    I've been lurking here for a few weeks and so far I've been quite impressed with the nice atmosphere and friendly attitude of the users here :)

Some info about me: I'm 30 years old, living in Denmark. I'm currently doing a Master's in Business Communication and also working part time in customer service. I've been interested in photography for about 5 years, when I bought my first "serious" camera.

I just bought a Olympus OM-D E-M10 a few days ago and quite happy with it. Before this, I have used a Canon DSLR, a Fuji X10 and then Fuji X100S. And I was actually on track to buying the new Fuji X-T10, but while I had preordered it, I decided to look around and see what else was out there.

I must admit I really never gave M43 cameras much thought before, but I really liked the retro look of the OMD series, something that also attracted me to the Fuji cameras. I then started reading reviews and looking at image samples and pretty much every reviewer had only praise for the E-M10. It was also priced quite attractively and on top of that there is a cashback in my country this summer (it's almost half the price of the Fuji X-T10). For a few weeks, I had a hard time deciding between the two! I then tried the E-M10 out in person, and the focus speed blew me away! I never thought a camera with CDAF could be so fast! Simply amazing. That was the final straw, since the Fuji cameras have never been known for their fast focus and I was getting fed up with missing shots because of that.

So far I'm just using the kit lens, but I'm thinking of getting either the Olympus 25mm or the 45mm soon, both solid and fairly cheap lenses with fast apertures.
    • Like Like x 2
  2. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer