1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New to m4/3... which one to choose E-P3, GX1?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by jhosper, Mar 27, 2012.

1. jhosper

jhosper New to Mu-43

Mar 27, 2012
    Green Bay, WI
    Ok, so I'm completely new to m4/3 but have tried several at my local Best Buy store to get a feel for them. I really enjoyed the touch to focus system on the GF2 & GF3 but wasn't overly impressed by the JPG quality of the Panasonic's. I found that the EPL3 had lightning fast focus but lacked the integrated flash which I think I would want. I also wasn't keen on the flippy-out screen & don't think I would use it much.

Reading up on DPReview, the EP3 seems to fit the bill well. It has the built in flash, touch screen & comes with all the bells & whistles. It is however spendy when new. In the classifieds it is a little more reasonable though.

Ideally, I want to use this camera for taking pictures of our wedding (outdoor ceremony / indoor reception). There it will be used by my sister as secondary pictures next to our wedding photographer (Canon DSLR user). And also for creating family pictures & travel photos after the wedding (going to Sonoma/Napa for honeymoon).

I have never used DSLR's & have a smaller budget (~$800) to work with. I would like something I can use for everything rather than supplementing another camera.

What are you suggestions on camera & lens?

2. phrenic

phrenic Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 13, 2010
    Given your limited budget, I would heavily consider the lower end cameras and invest in some lenses instead. For the wedding (indoor part at least) and probably your travel photos you would probably be better off getting a faster lens for low-light rather than being stuck with the kit lens. For 800ish you could get the E-PM1 and the 20mm 1.7 which might be a better compromise than using the built-in flash (which is weak obviously).

3. jhosper

jhosper New to Mu-43

Mar 27, 2012
    Green Bay, WI