1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

New to GX1 - need help!

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by HeartSleeve, Mar 8, 2013.

1. HeartSleeve

HeartSleeve New to Mu-43

Mar 8, 2013
    Delaware seashore
    Hi - just joined this site in hopes to get up to speed with new GX1. I am new to 4/3rds, coming from Nikon D3/D300 family. Looking for sample menu setups or how best to "learn" basics of this new camera. I usually shoot raw/manual setting but the Lumix user guide for the GX1 is like gibberish to me. I shoot mostly outdoor/nature or architecture, travel photography, and have a travel photog cruise coming up in 6 weeks. Can I learn the basics of operating this new camera in that amount of time? Sorry to ramble but I'm frustrated and confused. Any help gladly accepted.

2. GFFPhoto

GFFPhoto Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 24, 2013
    There is an expanded users manual that is available online.

Panasonic GX1 User Manual

It's a pretty simple camera. Just play with it for a couple hours and check the large manual for the things that you don't figure out right away. Since you already know photography and don't use a lot of the onboard creative JPEG modes, once you learn how to assign the Fn buttons and quick menu you are %95 of the way there.

3. spatulaboy

spatulaboy I'm not really here

Jul 13, 2011
    North Carolina
    Vin
    What are you confused/frustrated with? It's a pretty easy to use camera. All the manual functions are there, click the wheel to alternate between aperture and shutter speed. ISO, White Balance all have dedicated buttons.

4. HeartSleeve

HeartSleeve New to Mu-43

Mar 8, 2013
    Delaware seashore
    I was trying to use preset menus, like on my Nikon, so that #1 = Nature/Travel/landscape
    #2 = Sports/Action
    #3 = Portrait
    #4 = P& S