New to Forums and M4/3. Looking for information

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Monte, Aug 9, 2017.

1. Monte

Monte New to Mu-43

Aug 9, 2017
    Greetings,
    Just want to say hello and to say I am glad I found this forum, it looks like a tremendous resource. If this is in the wrong forum please accept my apologies and let me know so I can move it.

I have been shooting Nikon for decades. I am primarily a bird and landscape photographer currently using the D500 and 500mm f/4 as my primary tools. I use a couple of different wide angle lenses and the 70-200 f/2.8. You can see how I typically shoot at comeauphoto.ca.

I have just passed 60 years young and need to cut down in equipment weight. I do a lot of hiking and kayaking and the DSLR with heavy lenses just don't cut it for me any longer. I have come to the decision to move on to something like the Olympus E-M1 Mark II or similar. I have looked at the Fuji XT2 and Panasonic G7. Given that I will be using this system for birds and landscape is there a model and lenses that stand out to any of you?...I know, totally different gear needs but that's my thing :)

I will continue reading here for more information but mainly want to ask what lenses would you suggest for these models? I think the Leica DG Vario-Elmar 100-400 looks like something that I will get a lot of use out of and the Lumix 7-14mm. Any other suggestions? A 70-200 equivalent? Lumix 35-100?

Thanks in advance,
    Monte

2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Legend Subscribing Member

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    Welcome to the forum!