1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

new to 4/3

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by LarryL, Feb 8, 2014.

1. LarryL

LarryL Mu-43 Regular

Feb 6, 2014
    I am new to micro 4/3 format and looking for lots of help and guidance. I have most of my experience with Nikon DSLRs but decided to switch because I travel a lot for work, mostly overseas and the DSLR rig was getting to be too much. So I purchased an Olympus OM D EM1 and the 14-40 2.8. I need advice on wider lenses, longer lenses and all sorts of other items that go with a good kit. Thanks in advance from a frigid Colorado.

2. Itchybiscuit

Itchybiscuit Photon Mangler

Dec 10, 2013
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Ivor
    Welcome Larry.

There are lots of great folks on this site who really know their onions. Unfortunately, I'm not one of them - I'm the equivalent of the village idiot. :dash2:

I'm sure you'll enjoy your time here as much as I have.

3. NikkoExiledInSF

NikkoExiledInSF Mu-43 Regular

Feb 8, 2011
    Wiltshire, UK
    Hey Larry - welcome.

I made the same journey as you, from Nikon D2Xs & pro f/2.8 lenses, to Oly em-5 & M4/3 lenses. Ask away - this is a very friendly board and its packed with excellent photographers (unlike me). When I shot Nikon, I used zooms (17-55DX, 70-200DX, etc.) but in the move to M4/3 I've embraced and learned to love prime lenses. I never really appreciated beforehand how zooming to crop the photo fundamentally changed the "look" of the shot due to the effect of focal length. Old timers will chuckle but, for me, it was a eureka experience and it was entirely driven by the desire to ditch heavy gear for a lightweight body and, especially, lightweight lenses.