New to 4/3 ready to pick...which one?

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by m43baby, Jan 1, 2011.

1. m43baby

m43baby Mu-43 Regular

Jan 1, 2011
    Hello,

So I have decided to get myself an Olympus Pen camera. Now I have three choices: EPL1, EP1 and EP2. Other than EPL1 having a built in flash (I assume if you have a good lens you won't need to use flash), what are other differences between the three cameras? Do you see any of them dropping in price this month or early next month? My options are:

1. E-P1 with 17mm f/2.8 lens and viewfinder - $549
    2. E-PL1 with 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6 Zuiko Zoom Lens - $429
    3. E-P2 with 17mm f/2.8 lens - $635

I will definitely do a lot of video so from what I read, the 17mm lens is better than the 14-42mm. I'm new to photography and have only used a point and shoot camera. I've seen some amazing videos on vimeo shot with the GF1 and the 20mm pancake lens. Will the video quality be just as good with the Olympus Pen cameras if I get the Panasonic 20mm pancake lens?

• Like Like x 2
  2. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro

Hello and welcome to the forum. I'm sure there will be lots of advice but here's my 2c worth.

The E-P1 and 2 have more 'pro' features with 2 control dials for settings. Shutter speed also goes to 1/4000. They also are all-metal construction.

The E-PL1 is more of a beginner's camera with less control and shutter speed max of 1/2000. It is a metal + Plastic build. Audio is mono only.

The E-P2 and E-PL1 being newer can take the VF-2 electronic viewfinder or a video mic.

The Pen video specs are quite different to Panasonic bodies regardless of the lens chosen. This needs separate research.

Will let others chime in now and good luck with your decision.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Synaesthesia

Synaesthesia New to Mu-43

Jan 2, 2011
    Well, amongst those three cameras, I'd recommend the E-PL1. It's the best of the 3, it's got the best image quality and a built in flash.