1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New to 4/3 need advise

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by helodad, Feb 16, 2011.

1. helodad

helodad New to Mu-43

Feb 16, 2011
    I sure you all have discuss this a hundred times. I cant decide on Oly PL2 or PAN GF2.... I'm new to 4/3 but not to DSLRS.. the most important feature to me will be Image quality. I like using RAW and haveing more control of the camera settings. I decided to sell my CANON T1i because I just did not have it with me when I wanted it. I am sure one of these will fit the bill. I leaning towards GF2 just because of the 2.5 kit lens, I like the (prime) Give me your thoughts and maybe more suggestions on other models.

2. turbodieselvw

turbodieselvw Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 29, 2010
    Ottawa
    Although I have not seen it, if you want something that is somewhat pocketable, then the GF2 would be it.

3. Hyubie

Hyubie Unique like everyone else

Oct 15, 2010
    Massachusetts
    Herbert
    Hmmm.. I love my EPL1, and I have no idea about the Panasonic line, but I think the E-PL1 (and I suppose the E-PL2) is geared more towards those like me who just like JPEGs straight out of the camera, probably with minimal post-processing. Not that it doesn't allow you to shoot in RAW, it's just that the JPEGs are one of Oly's strengths. Plus, I don't suppose you'd have much use for the built-in Art Filters (which I enjoy), since you did say you shoot raw.

Another point that sold me on the E-PL1 is the built-in IS, thus I can use some other Canon lenses I own that have no IS. I haven't tried the lenses on the E-PL1 yet, but I love that I have that option.

In my opinion, I don't think the lens should be the major reason for your choice for the body since the m4/3 is a standard - I myself am planning to buy a Panny 20mm to go with my E-PL1.

4. BillN

BillN Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    SW France