new to 4/3 and need some lens guidance

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by LarryL, Feb 8, 2014.

1. LarryL

LarryL Mu-43 Regular

Feb 6, 2014
    I am new to 4/3 coming over from DSLR and using the EM1 (when it arrives next week) initially with the 12-40 2.8 (when it arrives) but see a real need for going wider.

I travel a lot and that provoked the change. Most of my work deals with conservation so I have lots of great opportunities in some amazing areas. In about 3 week I head out to Costa Rica, Chile and Panama and later on to other Latin American countries. I doubt Olympus will have their wider pro zoom out by the time I leave on my first trip so I would appreciate input as to a good wide zoom (the Panasonic f4, a bit expensive) that I can use until the Olympus comes out or just keep as my wide lens.

Thanks in advance for any input.
  2. BeyondTheLines

BeyondTheLines Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 23, 2012
    • Like Like x 5
  3. jamespetts

jamespetts Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2011
    London, England
    The fisheye 7.5mm Samyang is a good option. Also consider the 9-18mm lenses. Here, you have a choice: the 9-18mm Micro Four Thirds lens is very light and very quick to focus, but the corners are somewhat lacking in sharpness owing to heavy electronic distortion correction. The Four Thirds version, however, is somewhat cheaper (if you use an inexpensive third party adapter, at least), much better in the corners, not much heavier, a bit larger, but much slower to focus, even on the E-M1. Both lenses are significantly cheaper than the Panasonic 7-14mm f/4 (although if you are interested one day in the Olympus ultra-wide zoom, expect it to be at least as expensive, if not more if they manage to make it f/2.8 as many suspect that they will).
  4. Itchybiscuit

Itchybiscuit Photon Mangler

Dec 10, 2013
    Glasgow, Scotland
    The colour of the sky in #1 is outstanding. Those clouds look like they're made of golden silk.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. LarryL