1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New Style vs Old Style Olympus Lens

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by MrPhotoBob, Jun 24, 2012.

1. MrPhotoBob

MrPhotoBob Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 16, 2012
    I am new to Micro Four Thirds photography and I have read quite a bit about the different lenses that are offered. I am shooting with a E-M5 and I have been reading about the old and new version of Olympus lenses. I have seen some used lenses and after reading about them, I read where some of the older versions were not as sharp as the newer versions. My question is, how do you determine the new style lenses from the older style of Olympus Micro Four third lenses? I read some where that there was a version II lens as the newer lenses, but I was wondering how to determine those lenses from the older lenses. My second question, is whether there are any disadvantages of using non Olympus Micro Four Third lenses on the E-M5? I have heard some very nice things about the Panasonic lenses but I am not familiar with them.

2. dylandingo

dylandingo Mu-43 Regular

Nov 12, 2011
    La Crosse, WI
    I think they might be referring more of the old Olympus kit zoom lens that was replaced with a newer version, otherwise I have yet to see any other lenses in Olympus's line up that has been replaced(as far as I know). As far as using Panasonic m43 lenses on an Olympus M43 body, my Oly E-P3 works great with my Panasonic 20mm 1.7. You shouldn't have any problems using Panasonic m43 lenses.

• Like Like x 1
  3. MrPhotoBob

MrPhotoBob Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 16, 2012
    Is there a way to distinguish the old style kit lens from the new? I found one for sale, but I do not know if it is a newer lens or not.

4. The old one is shorter when collapsed but larger in diameter. It also had two extending barrels compared to just one on the newer version. The old has a 40.5mm filter thread, the new 37mm.

5. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010