New PEN-EPL1 owner and budding M43 enthusiast...

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by kidrussell, Oct 14, 2013.

1. kidrussell

kidrussell Mu-43 Regular

Oct 14, 2013
    Chagrin Falls, OH
    Chris
    I am very new to the world of interchangable lens photography. I have been watching this site for awhile, and it seems like a great place to get information and equipment.

I have the M. Zuiko 14-42 lens, and I am looking at a 40-150 zoom and a pancake prime (17mm f2.8, I'm on a budget) for my first two lens purchases. I tend to take a lot of pictures on hikes, and love to photographic nature.

I look forward to making my way from the IAUTO setting into the manual photography realm, and to the advice and information I will get from all of you.

• Like Like x 1
  2. dougjgreen

dougjgreen Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 5, 2013
    San Diego
    Doug Green
    I'd recommend the Panasonic 14mm f2.5 rather than the Olympus 17mm f2.8 for similar money. Either the Olympus 40-150 or the Panasonic 45-150 would be a good longer zoom for you. There are currently deals to be had on the Panasonic that makes it just as cheap as the Olympus - which could be useful if you ever move to a Panasonic body, you'll be glad to have a telephoto lens that has built-in Image Stabilization.

3. Rodchenko

Rodchenko Mu-43 Regular

Oct 10, 2013
    Exiled From Hyperborea
    Hi. I have very similar kit. I got a real bargain on an EPL1 and 14-42 zoom, then scored a great price on the 40-150, but I've yet to use the potential of that. I've also got the 15mm f8 lens for carrying around, but hope to upgrade to a 17mm f2.8 maybe next month.