New OMD user - what are some recommended accessories?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Tapper, Mar 12, 2013.

1. Tapper

Tapper Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2013
    Hey everyone,

My first post here. :)

After a ton of reading up, I ordered an OMD EM5 (with 12-50, 60 macro, and both 17mm f2.8 and f1.8 (I will pick one and send one back, need to try in real life)). Will get $300 in rebates from Olympus for the two lenses, which is nice, and the OMD kit was $1200, not bad.

Any recommended accessories? I'm completely new to MFT and OMD.

Cases, bags, grips, filters, hoods etc.? I'm fond of cheap but good quality stuff from eBay, but like to see what others have experienced first. So if there are any great OMD accessory items you found for good prices, go ahead and brag about it to me (and give me a link!).
  2. Halaking

Halaking Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 17, 2012
    Los Angeles
    FL600R flash is very good for your set, currently oly has $50 rebate for it.
  3. JStheoriginal

JStheoriginal Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 9, 2013
    I already have the FL-36R flash...getting the OM-D...will it work fine?
  4. Savas K

Savas K Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 10, 2013
  5. SkiHound

SkiHound Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 28, 2012
    I think you should mostly let need be your guide. I'd say a second battery is among the first accessories. A bag you like. I think a good tripod with ball head is terrific. But that depends on what you shoot. Probably worthless for street photography and priceless for nature photography. Things like polarizing filters, ND filters, etc., are also very subject specific. I always like a good comfortable neck strap.
  6. Talanis

Talanis Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 15, 2012
    Sherbrooke, Canada
    Eric Cote
    Spare batteries and Lens hoods
  7. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011

It sorta depends on what you shoot. But here's a start of some nifty stuff:

1) Battery Grip;
    2) Extra Batteries;
    3) P7-14;
    4) P35-100;
    5) P100-300;
    6) O75mm;