1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

New Member OM-D Em5

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by alkhalifa, Aug 17, 2012.

1. alkhalifa

alkhalifa Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 17, 2012
    Hello All,
    I have just joined the forum and have been trying to search for help threads on using the OM-D. I got the kit lens with my purchase and seem to not have crisp shots of moving objects like children and pets. I am not a professional nor am I a an amateur. I understand the concept of photography with aperture and shutter speed. Even on the auto I don't seem to get pictures that freeze fast moving objects. I am not sure if its my photography or my lens. I have had much better results with my NEX 5 with the pancake lens.

Can anyone recommend a good "allrounder" that I can use to photograph kids and fast moving objects like horses and pets. It doesn't have to by an Olympus lens but something that does the photography I need and also shoot in lower light situations.

Sorry if this has been asked before but couldn't find it in the threads.

2. twalker294

twalker294 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 18, 2010
    Most likely the problem is your shutter speed. At what shutter speed were these unacceptable shots taken? The kit lenses have pretty slow apertures which means the shutter speed is going to be slower in order to let enough light in. Were they taken indoors?

3. shizlefonizle

shizlefonizle Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 21, 2012
    Did you raise the iso for faster shutter speeds? When I shoot surfing on an overcast day I often bump it up to 1600 to get a fast enough shutter speed. With the Om-D iso 1600 is not a problem for web photos.

4. alkhalifa

alkhalifa Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 17, 2012
    Not sure what shutter speed probably 80, but on Auto they were very noisy. I am using the kit lens and even outdoor shot where noisy. Probably, need to get a good fast lens any advice?

5. alkhalifa

alkhalifa Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 17, 2012