1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New member intro

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by WendyK, Mar 10, 2014.

1. WendyK

WendyK Super Moderator

Feb 28, 2014
    Northern Virginia
    Wendy
    Hi, I’m new, I have been lurking here ever since I decided to order an OM-D E-M10, and have only posted a few times. I decided to join in here because you all seem very friendly and helpful and talented, so I figured I should participate in order to learn even more.

I live outside of Washington, DC. I’ve been a very casual photographer up until a couple of years ago when I decided to learn more about the (now 10 year old) Canon Digital Rebel I inherited from my father. Up until that time I was just using it on Auto, which yielded better results than my previous point and shoot, but still didn’t quite capture what I saw in my head. My primary form of artistic expression is gardening, and the photography is a complement to that, as it allows me to preserve those beautiful moments in the garden throughout the year and share them with others as I see them. I don’t take too many family pictures unless it’s an occasion or a trip because my only child is a teenage boy who doesn’t like to be photographed. I distinctly remember wishing I could burn every photo of myself at 14, so I guess I can understand that impulse.

I’ve learned quite a bit, but still have a long way to go. I feel like I’ve come a long way in terms of composition, but there is a limit to what you can learn with a 10 year old Canon kit zoom, and I didn’t want to invest in more lenses until I had a new camera.