1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New member....few questions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by ArchRivalNeo, Dec 19, 2011.

1. ArchRivalNeo

ArchRivalNeo New to Mu-43

Dec 19, 2011
    Hey Everybody! :smile:

Long time lurker, first time poster. How you guys doing? I've been a :43: convert ever since I bought my GF2 (and later my E-PL3) earlier this year. You can check out my flickr page (link in sig).

I've been using my E-PL3 for about 3 months now, and I had a few questions for you guys.

1. My OM-:43: adapter came in the mail, but I'm away from my home for a few days. Out of curiosity, how do I shoot with the zuiko lens with the adapter on? As I understand, it works in Aperture priority mode. But do you set the aperture on both the lens and on the screen? or just on the screen?

2. Lately, my screen shows only a part of the actual frame that's being shot. It's not zoomed in, but more like a frame that's subset to the actual captured frame. I've been trying to find the right menu item that would correct this, and even gone through the manual (the online one, not the abysmal excuse for a manual that came in the box) but it doesn't seem to mention anything about this. What should I be looking for?

3. Lastly, I'm curious as to how the wireless flash works on this camera. Does it need to have flash in the hot shoe to trigger a wireless flash unit? Is it not possible to use an external flash unit without master flash in the hot shoe? I'd like to use the 50 1.8 for potraits and I don't want to keep going back and forth the VF-2 (for manual focus) and flash.

I guess that's all the questions I have for now. If I do have any other questions, I'll ask them :redface:

2. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada