New lens for USA

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by danho, Nov 12, 2013.

1. danho

danho New to Mu-43

Nov 11, 2013
    Hi everyone,

Heading off to the US in a few weeks and just bought myself a olympus EPL5 and I am looking to get a new lens for it. I'm fairly new to photography so I'm not sure what lens to get. Most of my shooting will be buildings and scenery. Currently have the kit lens on the camera. 14-42mm. Is it a good idea to get another lens?

Thanks in advance.
  2. madogvelkor

madogvelkor Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 22, 2013
  3. Wisertime

Wisertime Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 6, 2013
    Depends on your budget. A Pana leica 25mm F1.4 or 45mm F1.8 will really add to your photography if you have $270-500 to spend (used or refurb pricing). The kit lens does well for basic shooting in good light though and is small/light.
  4. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    The US is a really huge country, with an almost infinite variety of subjects. We can probably give you better advice if you tell us where in the U.S. you plan to be, and what you want to do. But here are my thoughts:

If you think you'll be shooting in low light, or indoors a lot, you might want to consider a faster prime. The 25 f/1.4 is very good, as is the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7. For indoor use, I prefer the slightly wider field of view of the 20mm. It's probably a bit cheaper, too.

The 14mm end of the zoom is probably wide enough for most outdoor subjects, unless you're shooting in crowded urban locations. If you really need wider, you can always shoot several shots and stitch them together later. But if you want wider, the 9-18 is compact and reasonably priced.