New here and to m 43

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by PeteMarshall, Sep 13, 2010.

1. PeteMarshall

PeteMarshall Mu-43 Regular

Aug 30, 2010
    I recently got a GF-1. Being a professional by trade I am used to lugging around a series 1 EOS and a variety of L series zooms. Much of my work in the past was using large format cameras and I always miss the control I get with them. I had though of investing in a Leica M9 for documentary stuff, but I just can't justify the costs having no Leica lenses.
    My early experience of 4:3's machines, back in 2005, had rather put me off them. I thought the Olympus (I think it was an E something) would be a digital OM-1, my first serious camera and one that made a lot of cash for me), but the noise, and handling difficulties in manual mode put me right of. However when I first heard about the GF-1 I was interested. The noise at higher ISO's and the dynamic range is as good as my 1 D mk II and 5 D, nearly up there with the EOS 7 and mk III machines, and certainly the quality is enough for saleable work.
    Other than sports, there is nothing I can't use my GF-1 for (and I don't do sports!)
    I also got the 20mm f1.7 lens and the auto focus with this lens is amazing quick ...not quite up there with pro Canons, but as good as the 5D and I can AF on nearly anywhere on the screen. The manual focus is far superior to any dSLR and this is the truly great thing for me.
    I got a Tilt adapter and a Shift adapter for my old Nikon manual lenses...great stuff...it really is like using a digital back,
    I then picked up some old Minolta MC and MD lenses for next to nothing (always great lenses as good as Nikon glass and a lot cheaper even back in the day) these work great.
    Now also hacked the machine to produce higher quality video and the results are amazing for such a little machine. And all for £300!!!!