1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New guy from NZ

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by DeepBlueSky, Aug 4, 2016.

1. DeepBlueSky

DeepBlueSky Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 2, 2016
    John Cobb
    Hello Everyone,
    Saying Hi from Christchurch, New Zealand I'm just a family guy in his late '40's who has always enjoyed photography and now wants to push it a bit further, and rekindle my passion for Photography.

I'm the happy owner of a new Olympus om-d e-m10 II with the Twin Lens Kit.

Camera History
    I'm new to MFT, and its been awhile since I have owned a system camera. I originally owned a Pentax SFX 35mm SLR from new back in the '80's built up a good kit, then work, life, kids and digital arrived. I sold it all when digital took off though I wished I had kept some my lenses 50mm 1.7 and 500mm Mirror.

My first digital a Canon A80, even though it was was 4MP it produced some great shots and I still have it, then came the Lumix FZ35 that I bought to capture family shots of my then newborn second daughter, again another great camera and I still own this camera also. Then came phones with cameras I know sorry they are not proper cameras but they work to capture the unplanned moments.

Requirements for a new camera
    I didn't want the size of an SLR been there done that just not portable enough for me I would just end up not taking it on trips; but I didn't want a small sensor either, I had issues with noise and blur during night shots as I enjoy not always using a flash and hand holding the camera, plus I wanted the ability to alter settings to create effects etc. basically have fun.

Olympus M10 II

All I can say is WOW, after deciding on MFT as my new format and researching the heck out the internet I decided on the Olympus-OM-D-E-M10-II I prefered the ergonomics it felt right and it is a beast I'm really happy with the results.

Enough typing here are some photos they say it all :)

Last edited: Aug 4, 2016