New EM5 and 12-40 PRO user: Is my 12-40 soft???

ca22

Mu-43 Rookie
Hi Everyone,

thanks in advance for your advice - is my copy of the 12-40 soft?? I have been paranoid about this since switching over from Canon APS-C and dealing with all sorts of softness and back and front focus issues using Sigma lenses on that format. Now I realize that front and back focus are almost never an issue with Olympus m43 contrast detect AF, so I wonder if the softness I'm seeing is normal or not. I've seen some impressively sharp examples on the web... The following was taken at 40mm, f 3.5, ISO 100, 1/500s.
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

ca22

Mu-43 Rookie
apologies, smallest focus box was on the eyes/head of the bird. Here is a more or less 1:1 crop. I am relatively new to photography so your helpful advice is appreciated! Is the minor softness just due to the fact that I was a bit far away from the subject?

ca22

Mu-43 Rookie
I guess my question is: how sharp would it be realistic for me to expect the eye and head of the bird to be when zoomed in to 1:1, since that is what the focus box was on?

ca22

Mu-43 Rookie
this is a jpeg, but viewing the raw in lightroom looks about the same to me.

p.s. just joined this forum and amazed at the quick feedback. Thanks!!

Reflector

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Try processing the RAW through Lightroom with 20-40 sharpening and see if you're happy with the results.

Replytoken

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Ken
Try manual focusing next time. As small as the focus boxes are, they do not always pick up on a small subject. And, is it possible that either you and/or the bird moved after you obtained focus?

--Ken

ca22

Mu-43 Rookie
focus point was on or near the eye, using the smallest focus box - but it seems that no part of the head or beak is sharp. I will have to try manual focus the next time - but maybe i should amend my question to what can be expected from auto focus?

bhima

Mu-43 Regular