New E-PL1-Help!

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Don Baldwinson, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Don Baldwinson

Don Baldwinson Mu-43 Regular

Apr 2, 2010
    I unpacked it, charged the battery (full charge confirmed by charger and camera). Turn it on and everything functions fine. Take a shot and then no button works. Turn the camera off, then on again and everything functions until I fire the shutter again.
    There is no image on the card when I put it into the card reader.
    I tried further charging of the battery, changing cards, changing lenses but the problem remains.
    I have checked right through the manual but can't find anything I may have forgotten.
    I'm not a complete novice, owning 2 other 4/3 cameras, but never experienced anything like this.
    Anyone got any ideas before I send the camera back?
    Thanks,
    Don

2. Brian Mosley

Brian Mosley Administrator Emeritus Charter Member

Dec 15, 2009
    Don, what happens if you take the SDHC card out and take a shot? does it still lock up?

I'm wondering whether it's a fault with the card / card interface...

Cheers

Brian

3. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend Charter Member

Jan 29, 2010
    South Gippsland, Australia
    Ray, not Oz
    Don

Have you formatted the card? That's the first thing that I do with every card before use and the second thing I do after downloading photos. Also, have you updated the firmware, as there's a new version available? Also, what dial setting are you using?

Cheers

Ray

4. Don Baldwinson

Apr 2, 2010
    Hi Brian, just tried that and it makes no difference. One is a new card, the other one works fine on another camera. I formatted both on the Pen before using them.
    Cheers,
    Don

5. Brian Mosley

Dec 15, 2009
    That's really strange, I would update the firmware, and if that doesn't fix the problem - sorry to say it sounds like a return.

Cheers

Brian

6. Don Baldwinson

Apr 2, 2010
    Hi Ray,
    Yes, both cards.
    The Firmware is updated.