1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New E-M5 Owner....couple of questions??

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by btango05, Aug 8, 2012.

1. btango05

btango05 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 8, 2012
    Lathrop CA
    Hi...as the title says I am a new E-M5 owner (Black with the 14-42 kit lens). So far I am pretty satisfied. I was a little overwhelmed with the UI at first but I'm pretty tech savy and can get accustomed to new UI's fairly fast. I owe this due to my smart phone habit.

But anyways I'm just a hobbyist, got some kids and I like taking there pictures. I've owned Canon DSLR's in the past...I had to sell my cameras last year to get through some tough times but things are getting better and I decided to get a 4/3 camera. I chose the OM-D.

So at first I was not to enthused at my results(considering my hard earned cash spent)...thought about returning it. But then I remembered I wasn't getting good results with my DSLR's with the kit lens. I'm a big Bokeh fan! I like getting my children faces focused and have them pop out at you.

So after some debate and a lot of butt kissing to my wife I convinced her in letting me buy the Panny 20mm 1.7f

Hoping this lens gives me what a 30mm 1.4 gave me on my 50/60d. From the looks of other members posts I think I made the right choice for my needs. I was gonna get the 25mm but it ran out of stock at b&h. I also was considering the Olympus 45 but not a fan of the silver finish...as I have the black OM-D...

I was wondering about the Sigma's...any feed back on those? For around $200 I can get a 19mm 2.8f. But is 2.8f the same as it is on a DSLR?

Sorry...long winded intro

2. heedpantsnow

heedpantsnow Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 24, 2011
    Welcome! I too came to m4/3 from Canon dSLR's (10D in my case). I also was very overwhelmed with Oly's customizability. Now, I feel like my camera and I really "click" (Ha!).