New computer parts ordered - what do you think

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
Microsoft Windows 7 Professional 64-bit 1-Pack for System Builders - OEM
Item #: N82E16832116758

$139.99

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL
Item #: N82E16820231311

$89.99

MSI P55-GD65 USB3 LGA 1156 Intel P55 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Item #: N82E16813130272

$109.99

GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card
Item #: N82E16814125333

$189.99

XIGMATEK BALDER SD1283 120mm Long Life CPU Cooler I7 i5 775 AMD compatible, w/ bracket ACK-I5361
Item #: N82E16835233040

$39.99

LITE-ON 24X DVD Writer Black SATA Model iHAS-324-98
Item #: N82E16827106334

$21.99

Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W Continuous Power ATX12V version 2.3 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC ...
Item #: N82E16817371026

$84.99

Acer G235HAbd 23'' WideScreen LCD monitor
Item #: N82E16824009266

$139.99

Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750
Item #: N82E16819115215

$184.99

COOLER MASTER Storm Scout SGC-2000-KKN1-GP Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Item #: N82E16811119196

$59.99

Subtotal $1,061.90
Tax $0.00
UPS 3 DAYS $0.00
Order Total $1,061.90

Big sale today at the egg so I pulled the trigger after telling my wife how good a deal it is and it's just for today. Also more than 100 bucks of rebates so the cost is around 900 really. I love no tax and no shipping charges.:biggrin:

I built several systems and used to work on computers so I love building them, especially for myself since I only build a new one every once in a great while. Also I'm an overclocker too. I have this system running at 3.9Ghz for the last year.:smile:
 

G1 User

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jul 20, 2010
Messages
411
Seems fast enough for photography :biggrin:
Although PS5 may get bogged down (only 8g ram :wink:.... just kidding)
 

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7
It has a couple of extra networking things built in. Backup to network is also something I might use.

I probably don't need it, but for 40 dollars more, I figured I might need those extra features. Also the max memory for Premium is 16Gb. So you never know. With 8Gb of memory selling for 90 bucks, who knows how low memory prices can go. I play several flight sims like FSX which eat CPU speed and memory like it's nothing. After I read the Tom's Hardware article on memory the other day, more memory is good especially if it can be bought cheap.

Memory Upgrade: Is It Time To Add More RAM? : Introduction

After working on computers for a few years and preaching to people about how their previous computer builder had shafted them with a bogus copy of windows and how I could not help them without them buying a legit copy, I generally practice what I preach. I have used this Windows XP home OEM copy on three different computers, although only installed on one at a time as I upgrade my system. The OEM copies are not that bad, it's the retail copies which are just crazy expensive.
 

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #8
That's a nice case, but it's too expensive for me and too big also. What a monster.
 

sblehm

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
37
That looks like a good build! My work PC has the same proc and I am happy with it.

As it would happen I actually used the system image back-up utility today for the first time and saved to a network share. I am upgrading the hard drive and hope to restore to the new disk tomorrow. That way I will not need to rebuild the whole thing...we'll see.
 

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #10
I've used the backup to an external drive before. It works just like Ghost. I imaged a RAID 0 array to a file, then did away with the RAID array, making it just two separate drives, C and D. Then restored the image and it worked perfect.
 

hanzo

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
354
Real Name
Chan
Hi texas,

Nice rig! :thumbup: although it would be nicer if you bought better monitor for image editing/photography.
 

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #13
Yeah, it's a budget monitor for sure, but it was on sale and so on.

No I had a RAID 0 array, two 320GB Seagates running on a 650i Nvidia mobo. The speed of the RAID 0 array was much faster than no RAID, but I was constantly worrying about one failing and losing everything so I abandoned that strategy and got a 750Gb WD Black which was close to the speed of the two old Seagates running in RAID 0.

RAID 0 is when the data is split or striped between two drives. If one dies, it's adios to all your data.

RAID 1 is two drives that are mirrored. If one dies, you can rebuild the array, but it's not as fast as RAID 0. Read speed is good on RAID 1 though because it reads from both drives at the same time.
 

sblehm

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
37
gamers, in my experience like to run raid 0 - doubles the chances of losing everything:)
 

Boyzo

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
784
Your a man after my Heart Rick
THis system should fly :biggrin:
My current system is a prev. gen Pentium Quad core o/c to 3.4ghz with 8gig of ram running windows 7 Ultimate.
 

Iconindustries

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 31, 2010
Messages
2,196
Location
Cecil Plains, Queensland, Australia
that's the first time I've ever seen someone actually buy a copy of Windows
I'd say If you were in china said to another chinese that you were off to 'buy' a windows 7 disc they would look at you most strangely.

Texascbx, the G. Skill ram sounds good. I just recently bought myself a G. Skill SSD and it is very good quality. Better than I expected. (By the way why don't you just got the little extra and get yourself a fast SSD) It's made my macbook pro virtually open up apps and files instantly. For example Aperture opens in about 2 seconds and itunes as soon as it's clicked. All i need now is just a bit more processing power than 2.26GHZ so I can make aperture changes to images instantly.
 

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #17
The thing about SSD is the cost now. I think in five years, they will replace mechanical drives. But with 1Tb mechanical drives going for 59 dollars, it could take longer for costs to come down on SSD drives.

Plus with all the simulations/games I have, I would have to run a SSD for my OS and a HD for my sims anyway. FS9 takes up 16.2 GB and FSX takes up 24.4 GB. IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 takes up 8.83 GB. These items are no big deal on the WD Black 750Gb I have them installed on.

We have 640Gb platters in these new drives and soon we will have 1Tb platters. I remember my first computer was a Dell with a 13Gb IBM Deskstar/deathstar.
 

Narnian

Nobody in particular ...
Joined
Aug 6, 2010
Messages
1,465
Location
Richmond, VA
Real Name
Richard Elliott
You could get the best of both worlds with RAID 10 :biggrin:

In fact, RAID 10 with SSD would be very interesting - and ridiculously expensive :tongue:
 

texascbx

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
Dec 30, 2009
Messages
389
Location
Texas
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #19
I know several guys running two SSDs in RAID 0. SSDs would makes sense for a person that money is no object. Like someone running GTX 580 3-way SLI.
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom