Need some OM-D video pointers

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Kevmaughan, Jun 17, 2012.

1. Kevmaughan

Kevmaughan Mu-43 Regular

Dec 26, 2011
    I've been shooting some videos around the house and I'm surprised at the clarity, but I'm not sure that I'm doing this video thing right. I'm well schooled in the photographic functions of a camera, but I'm a noob when it comes to video (usually set the camcorder to dummy mode and shoot away). A couple of issues that I'm not sure about.
    1) Even when my subject is fairly static (1 month old baby), the focus seems to bounce a little. Just enough to be distracting.
    2) Slight movements seem to induce the wobble or jello effect that I thought would be eliminated moving from my EP3

I am using aperture mode and shooting at f2-2.8 depending on the lens (Oly 12mm and PL25). I am also using the continuous AF. Would it help to stop the lens down some? Is the jello effect from a shutter speed that is too slow? Would I be better off using a different focusing method and/or moving to a faster shutter speed?
  2. berni29

berni29 Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 5, 2012

I am no expert on video at all, but I think you are probably better off using manual focus, or AF when you half press the shutter. Also I prefer a higher frame rate so shoot 720p

3. apekkpul

apekkpul Mu-43 Rookie

May 2, 2012
    Some hints

You will get the best video quality when you turn the left dial to video mode, and set all to manual. Keep the shutter 1/30 (very dark), 1/50 (Europe), or 1/60 (US). In a bright light you need to use a ND filter if you shoot a wide open. Consider purchasing a variable ND filter that can be used with step-up filters with all your lenses.

IBIS only works with native lenses, and they are pretty sharp and introduce easily moire. You may want to decrease sharpness (-2), contrast (-1), and saturation (-1). I typically use "Muted" picture style.