Need recommendation: Panny 25mm or Olympus 45?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by duvinclunk, Oct 22, 2012.

1. duvinclunk

duvinclunk Mu-43 Regular

Aug 21, 2012
    Ready for my next lens. I have the kit 12-50 and my wife recently bought me the Samyang 7.5. I'm now looking for a good all around prime where I can start playing with DOF (I'm very new to photography). Well money isn't such that I can currently buy both but would like to get one or the other. What would be the recommendation as it which to go with based on image quality, build, and 'bokeh'? Obviously the 45 is cheaper but I don't mind paying a bit more if the 25 is a 'better' lens. What y'all think?
  2. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
    Depends. If you find yourself a general street shooter, the 25 is a great lens for low light and as a walk-around lens. If you find yourself more of portrait/distance shooter, the 45mm is a better lens in that regards.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. nickthetasmaniac

nickthetasmaniac Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 11, 2011
    If you just want to get a taste of what its like playing around with narrow depth-of-field and 'bokeh' I'd recommend a classic 50mm f1.4 film lens with an adapter ($90 for lens, $25 for adapter).

Like this, taken with a cheap and cheerful Pentax M50/f1.4 and Fotodiox PK-MFT adapter:
    P1060968 by nickthetasmaniac, on Flickr

If you're set on a modern lens, then it really depends on priorities and style. In terms of image quality both are exceptional. Both have lovely quality bokeh but the 45mm will give you narrower depth of field (with the trade of being a tighter field of view). The Lumix has better build quality but both are pretty good. You will probably be stoked with both, so do you want a 'normal' or a 'portrait' lens?
  4. SkiHound

SkiHound Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 28, 2012