1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Need help with verifying focusing issue with EM1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by shg2, May 26, 2014.

1. shg2

shg2 Mu-43 Regular

May 14, 2014
    NY
    I have EM1, 75/1.8 and 12-40/2.8 sine 3 weeks and I have been having CAF problems since the beginning and then SAF problems in addition to the lock ups.

CAF using EM1 with 75/1.8
    I am new to it so I am mostly blaming myself however, I always notice that the camera can't maintain focus while panning.
    I have release priority off, use smallest focus frame, sometimes regular and sometimes 3x3 and I take candid photos for people walking in the street and for runners. My keep rate is less than 15%.
    I change the aperture to smaller numbers f4-f8, 6fps and I still could not improve the results.

SAF using EM1 with 75/1.8
    Since I spent the first week with the camera on CAF so I started using the SAF last week I noticed some of the photos are out of focus (release priority off, A priority wide open, all in camera image enhancement settings on default.

At this point I am disappointed and upset as I can't figure out what's wrong, is it the camera, lens or myself? The out of focus with SAF is around 10-20% maybe and I am not changing any settings and is being used for portrait mainly from 8' distance or around that. I did get some incredible pictures and that is what driving me insane.

What do you suggest that I do to make sure whether it is a camera, lens, both or myself is at fault? What kind of tests should easily provide the answer?

Below you will find 3 still images with SAF. For the portraits, the first one was at f2.2 and smallest focus frame on the eye. Second one f1.8 and focus on the eye. Third, Focus at the widest area of the triangle of the upper water stream

P5240162.

P5240156.

P5240191.

2. Drdave944

Drdave944 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 2, 2012