1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Need advice on equipment for G5

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by abhisheks77, Aug 20, 2013.

1. abhisheks77

abhisheks77 Mu-43 Regular

Jul 26, 2013
    I am a newbie in this field. I have Panasonic G5 + 14-42mm + 45-140mm+small lowpro bag, which is suffient for my camera and both lenses. I am going to Travel Grand Canyon+Antelope+Vegas+Coral Pink Sand Dunes+Kelso Dunes in this month end.
    Most of the time in my travel, I will have lot of light due to desert and clean sunny climate. I am planning to take a basic, light weighted tripod.
    I was checking on Tripods. Below url is for Slik Compact II Tripod. Will it have subject to vibration, as this is light weighted ? Others recommended tripds seems to be out of my budget.
    Electronics, Cars, Fashion, Collectibles, Coupons and More Online Shopping | eBay
    I have LUMIX G Vario 14-42mm lens and H-FS45150K 45-150mm Lumix G Series Lens, which came with this camera as kit.
    Should I consider some like Hoya 52mm (HMC UV / Circular Polarizer / Warm) ? Here is URL - Amazon.com: Hoya 52mm (HMC UV / Circular Polarizer / Warm) 3 Introduction Filter Kit with Pouch: Electronics
    Or some individual filter or something else, I will require for my travel ?

2. MingTyhMaa

MingTyhMaa Mu-43 Regular

Jul 20, 2012
    Lafayette, CA
    Ming-Tyh Maa
    My opinion is that almost any tripod will be adequate, given the G5+lenses is so dang light. However, many of us have 3+ tripods hanging around b/c we resisted buying a high quality tripod. If you can rent a nice tripod to demo, that would be a good experience. Ultimately when you buy, if photography is to be a serious hobby, I would just splurge for a carbon fiber tripod.

With regards to the filters, having a circular polarizer is nice as that's the only filter that cannot be reproduced in post processing. However the other filters I would just forget about.

3. ThomD

ThomD Mu-43 Veteran