1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

need advice for my first all around lens

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by renegade, Jun 3, 2015.

1. renegade

renegade Mu-43 Rookie

Jun 3, 2015
    rey
    hello everyone. i hope i came to the right place. i was looking for active micro 4/3 users forum everywhere.

i will start by introducing myself. my name is Rey. i m from Philippines and currently working and residing in KSA. i am relatively new to the micro4/3 system but i am very interested mainly because of its size and surprisingly good performance. i love to photograph landscape, cityscapes, portrait, maybe a little bit of birding since my friend group is up for birding. i came from Panasonic GF1 with 20mm 1.7 kit lens 4 years ago (which i already give it to my wife) and i was blown away when i first use it. cant believe the capabilities for the micro4/3 system so i decided to upgrade to E-M1. since i like the performance, the looks and the handling of it. so last month i had a chance to buy an E-M1 body at roughly 650USD.

i am asking your expertise and experience on this camera body. i want to build a lens base for my micro4/3 system. not in one time but one by one i will try to get the essential lenses for my E-M1.

here are my Options:
    1. get the Speedbooster/LensTurbo for Canon FD and buy cheap Canon FD lenses
    2. get the MMF3 and buy the essential fourthirds lenses from Olympus ( i really prefer this one since i can find a lot of very good Olympus 4/3 lenses online for a cheaper price and it supports AF)
    3. get the micro4/3 lenses ( but this is so limited and relatively expensive)

can you help me choose my first all around lens? which system do i first buy? speedbooster/lensturbo, fourthirds+mmf3 or micro4/3 system lenses? i want to start with the MMF3+Zuiko12-60/2.8-4.0 since i can take advantage of the AF and i can find the pair for less than 500USD online

thank you and hope to hear your opinions on this.