need a little off camera flash guidance,

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by genesimmons, Jan 9, 2018.

1. genesimmons

genesimmons Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2017
    hi all, recently picked up a godox tt685 and a godox x1t0 ttl trigger, i am very new to off camera flash and flash in general, i think i have things set up correctly and it seems to work but with everything in ttl mode i dont see the zoom mm go up and down on the flash like i do when its on the camera, i have channel a set to ttl on the x1t0 and the flash is set to ttl, flash seems to trigger fine but no matter what zoom i use it doesnt go up or down on the flash, its in zoom auto and its at lowest on the dial which is the 3 bars, any one using this combo? on a em1.2. also i see a olps on the flash that i have not seen before, need to search for the flash manual maybe, haha, hoping some one can steer me in the right direction

2. ijm5012

ijm5012 Mu-43 Legend

Oct 2, 2013
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ian
    Not certain / pure speculation here, but it may be that way because the flash is off-camera. The zoom setting on the flash is meant to direct the cone of light based on the FoV of the lens (i.e. the focal length). But, because the flash is off-camera, this is no longer a point of concern.

I'm not certain how my FL-50r's work when off camera in TTL mode off the top of my head, but I'm pretty sure the zoom setting goes away. I know that it does even when I have the flash mounted in the hot-shoe, but have the head angled up for bounce. It's only when I rotate the head down facing towards the subject that the focal length shows up.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Repp

Repp Mu-43 All-Pro Subscribing Member

Jan 27, 2011
    Seoul, South Korea