Need a cheap sharp Prime lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by 369, Apr 8, 2011.

1. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    Hi all,

I have a EP-1 for almost 10 months now. I love the cam and this is my first real camera. However, looking at this forum and seeing some great results from adapted lens, I also want to get a lens that is Cheap, Sharp and easily available.

I would like to have the panasonic 20mm 1.7 but don't have the funds. So I need to get an inexpensive lens. Kindly suggest the right lens which is sharp and cheap also what adapter do I need to buy with it.

I am an amateur photographer, will use it for personal pics, outdoors, portraits, indoor party etc.
  2. qball

qball Mu-43 Regular

Jun 19, 2010
    Konica Hexanon 40 1.8
  3. sherlock

sherlock Mu-43 Regular

Mar 31, 2011
    Keep in mind any other lens you get will be manual-focus only, which may not be a good thing if you're just starting out and/or want to use it when out & about.

The above mentioned 40mm hexanon is a good choice, as is any of the 50mm f1.4's from Canon/Nikon/Olympus/Pentax. The Olympus (OM) 50 f1.4 is probably my pick, but by the time you get one in good condition (USD$130) and an adapter (USD$35) plus shipping, you're already over halfway to a Panasonic 20 f1.7.
  4. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro

I have the Konica and an OM 50/1.4. Prefer the Olympus OM.
  5. aw614

aw614 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 19, 2011
    I picked up a Konica hexanon 50mm F/1.8 for 15 dollars at a local camera store, I would search there, the canon/nikon/olympus/pentax manual film stuff was a bit more pricy, but the minolta and konica manual focus stuff was fairly well priced and reasonable typically under 50 for a nice prime F/1.4
  6. Pan Korop

Pan Korop Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 31, 2011
    Phare Ouest
    Why not the 17/2.8 pancake Zuiko, pref. with the VF-1 viewfinder?