ND Filter for 12-40 PRO

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by gilo9652, Jun 12, 2015.

1. gilo9652

gilo9652 Mu-43 Regular

Apr 10, 2015
    I want to get a variable HOYA but recently read there are some issues with some X shape you get in the frame. Other option is to get a fixed ND HOYA.

Since I'm not experienced with ND, i forward this question for those who are and can advice.

Thank you very much, I appreciate you taking to time to help,

2. Jfrader

Jfrader Guest

I tried a variable ND and was not at all happy with the results. Skies tended to be mottled in areas. I dumped it in my ever growing unused gear box and bought a set of quality fixed ND filters and have been happy since.
  3. tyrphoto

tyrphoto Mu-43 All-Pro

May 25, 2014
    Seoul | NYC
    I'm not a fan of variable ND filters either.
  4. cyrax83

cyrax83 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 8, 2014
    Don't get a variable. I use a 77mm screw in ND filter (10 stop and a 6 stop) with a step up ring. I went for the larger size for potential future proofing
  5. mannukiddo

mannukiddo Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 28, 2013
    It's very simple for still photos get a fixed and grad nds. For videos get a variable nd.
  6. Whtrbt7

Whtrbt7 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 7, 2014
    Variable ND filters are essentially 2 polarized filters joined together which is what makes artifacts in photos. It's a little different for video. I tend to put B+W solid ND filters to cut the light. I also stack a 3 stop and a 6 stop to get 9 stops if needed. It's good for firework trails, motion trails, and waterfall photos. I don't recommend stacking more than 2 filters since there can be vignetting.
  7. mcasan

mcasan Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 26, 2014
    B+W 62mm 1.8 ND MRC 106M Filter from B&H or Adorama. It does 6 stop light reduction.
  8. Gary5

Gary5 Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 15, 2014
    What applications do you want the filter for? I think variable might be more convenient for use with a flash but solid is probably better for everything else.