NCD! OM-D E-M5 MARK II and some questions!

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by chilly_valve, Jun 19, 2017.

1. chilly_valve

chilly_valve New to Mu-43

Jun 19, 2017
    Singapore
    Hi folks! New Camera Day for me! Just joined this forum and still reading how to properly use this cam. So my wife gave me an advance father's day gift and I'm sooo happy with this OMD Mark 5 II! I had my Nikon D60 for the longest time and that thing has served me well for family and kids photos but it is obviously very old (has issues) and not really that responsive anymore.

So far, I'm really loving it... I'm just a hobbyist but I find this mini cam very responsive, has a very image stabilization and the zoom capability and white balance is amazing! :bowdown:

Anyhow, pardon me for the noobness of my question but:

1. I noticed that the viewfinder colors are not the same as the screen. Will this be fixed with the firmware update?
    2. I had a Nikkor 50mm 1.4 which I really loved for portrait shots.
    > Which adapter should I purchase to make it compatible with my Mark 5?
    3. What other good and affordable lens from Olympus that can give me that blurred background?

Thanks in advance!

2. JamesD172

JamesD172 Mu-43 Veteran Subscribing Member

Aug 18, 2016
    James Dolezal
    Congrats on your new camera! I love my E-M5 II. To answer your questions:

1) The viewfinder is a different screen type (OLED) than the rear screen (LCD), so the colors will be different. OLED (viewfinder) colors should be more accurate than LCD.
    2) Not sure - someone else can chime in.
    3) You are actually not restricted to Olympus lenses - other manufacturers of lenses for micro four thirds include Panasonic, sigma, rokinon, voigtlander, and others. Many of these can provide blurred background. What focal length are you looking for?

Some autofocus lenses off the top of my head that can provide decent subject isolation:
    - Panasonic 25mm f/1.7
    - Olympus 25mm f/1.8