1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

< n O v I c E f I l M a K e R > Needs PRO's Help/Advice -- Tascam DR-05 Vs. Zoom H1... A lavalier

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by shanguli, Jan 21, 2015.

1. shanguli

shanguli Mu-43 Regular

Sep 16, 2014
    canada
    As a novice filmmaker I'd like to get some gear for Hybrid videos, Corporate videos which involves sound recording and audio playback.

1-Please advise as to which of the 2 (Tascam DR-05 Vs. Zoom H1) I should go for, as opposed to the other and your why?

2- A Lavalier microphone – Rode Smartlav
    But it seems like these mics are only for iPhone users?!?! <http://www.smartlav.com/>
    (I'm an android/Galaxy slave)

3- Feel free to suggest any other gear necessary/useful that is worth it to get.

2. Lobbamobba

Lobbamobba Mu-43 Veteran

May 15, 2013
    Sweden
    If you look at 04:28 in the video Im using a cheap $15 lav mic with the Zoom H1 that I have in my back pocket.

Review - FilmCity - The Low Budget Camera Rig: http://youtu.be/5O9fE6rAxyE

And in this video I talk straight into the Zoom which is then routed to my camera from roughly 2m.

BMPCC - Part 3/9 - How to Record Good Audio on a …: http://youtu.be/RXRurd_e3Vs

• Like Like x 1
  3. JoJo

JoJo Mu-43 Regular

Mar 19, 2013
    Atlanta, GA
    JoJo
    Have you considered using a very small audio mixer feeding directly into your camera? MANY advantages, especially when you need two or three audio sources like when you are recording an interviewer and the subject. It is a PIA to sync up audio in post.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    I've used both, and they work pretty much the same. The DR-05 is larger, easier to use with more buttons, and built better. The Zoom's tripod mount in particular is plastic molded directly into the body shell and very easily damaged. I use the Tascam now really for that reason.