1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

mZD 12mm 2.0 diary and notes

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by WT21, Jul 21, 2011.

1. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    I'm going to use this thread to post some comments/observations about the new Oly 12mm lens. This is not a FL that I'm an expert at. I'm much more comfortable with a normal lens, but I've been meaning to try and get wider, so I thought I'd give it a shot.

I DIDN'T get this lens to do landscape or architectural. I got it for people and indoors (that's why I value the wide angle and 2.0) but as there's nothing social going on, I'm going to start with some landscape stuff.

I'm also REALLY busy at work right now, so this may be sporadic, and if someone else starts with a real review of the lens, I'll stop posting here and let someone run a "proper" review, but I figured people might want to see something ASAP on this lens.

• Like Like x 4
  2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston
    First up: physical package

First, the negatives:

1) The lens doesn't come with a hood or a lens bag

??????????? :eek::mad:

Yes, I knew this, but when you open your $900 lens, and you are only looking at the lens and a cardboard box, it comes home to you and really ticks you off a bit. I might return it just because of that. If I'm paying $900 for a lens, I expect something else in there. I can get a cheap hood from ebay, but no lens bag or case (also see point #2 just below)!!!!!

2) I think the finish might scratch easily. I'm not daring to try, but I remember one early on line reviewer had some scratches on their 12mm. They were a photo journalist and maybe got their's free. Mine cost $900. Looking at the finish, I dare say it may scratch easily. I feel prone to babying it.