Review Mystery Ranch Pintler: The Perfect Back Country Photography Backpack?

Phocal

Mu-43 Legend
As a wildlife photographer I struggle with finding a backpack that will meet all my needs. The problem begins with the need to carry more than photography gear and most photography packs are designed to just carry camera gear. The ones you find that can carry more than just photography gear are not that well designed with respect to where the weight is carried, suspension system, camera padding, or expandability.

Most of what I call back country photography backpacks put all the weight (the camera gear) at the bottom of the pack, which isn’t optimal for load carrying. In an internal frame pack (which all of them are) you want the weight mid-back and close to the body. The only pack I have found that would allow me to adjust the load location are the F-stop bags, but even those you have to go around the design by packing stuff under the ICU to raise the camera gear off the bottom. Going hand in hand with where the load is carried is the second common problem with back country photography packs, the suspension system. The suspension system is made up of the shoulder and waist straps along with the frame of the pack. This is what determines how the pack rides on your back and where the load is distributed, ideally on the hips. In a traditional backpack you have different size packs and some offer even further adjustment to get the pack fitting perfectly. The fine tuning and weight transfer to the hips is an area that many of the back country photography backpacks have problems with. Most only come in one size and lack any way of fine tuning the fit like your traditional backpacks, which makes them uncomfortable unless you just happen be the perfect size for that pack.