My very versatile E-PL3

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by RenaudVL, Jul 21, 2012.

1. RenaudVL

RenaudVL Mu-43 Veteran Subscribing Member

Mar 21, 2011
    Hello,

Just tested my newly modified E-PL3. I did the mod myself. I have opted for a clear glass modification (Edmund Optics, optical quality glass) to allow for full spectrum astrophotography, which I have been doing with Canon camera for a few years. I am planning to do wide field test with the Olympus :43: fast primes. More to come...

And also by adding a Hoya R72 filter on the lens it is a great Ir camera.

I have also ordered a X-NiteCC1 from maxmax.com to use the camera as a second body, this filter bring it back to it original white balance.

View attachment 219125

Here are some IR samples...
    I am really please with the result

View attachment 219126

View attachment 219127

• Like Like x 11
  2. DHart

DHart Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 7, 2010
    Scottsdale, Arizona
    Don
    What a fun project. I wouldn't dare tear my E-PL3 open, but I'd love to with some guidance.

3. twokatmew

twokatmew Mu-43 All-Pro Subscribing Member

Jun 1, 2012
    Lansing, MI, US
    Margaret
    +1
    I agree, RenaudVL, fabulous results! :smile:

4. Jorg.S

Jorg.S Mu-43 Regular

Nice, this looks really interesting.

5. RenaudVL

Mar 21, 2011
    Don, this particular camera was a bit more challenging to modify than expected, I would not recommend truing it if you have never done it. Of the Olympus lineup the E-PL1 was the easiest one to do, it would allow to experiment and still get a camera that would provide good result.

I considered documenting the process, but I just don't have the time to invest into this...

Thanks everyone, it is a fun project.

• Like Like x 3
  6. twokatmew

twokatmew Mu-43 All-Pro Subscribing Member

Jun 1, 2012
    Lansing, MI, US
    Margaret