1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

My Olympus M4/3 Dilemma

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Dave Jenkins, Jun 12, 2012.

1. Dave Jenkins

Dave Jenkins Mu-43 Veteran

I’ve been using the Olympus E-PL1 for nearly two years now, and I still can’t get used to it. My difficulties are truly almost enough to drive me back to using film in an OM-1 or 2. I’ve been saving up for an OM-D, but now I’m not so sure that’s the way to go.

Here are the things I hate:

1. Menus. I hate, hate, hate the menus. It seems like whenever I touch the wrong button (which I seem to do most of the time) I have to dig through the menu system to find some obscure thing I did wrong. The information about how to correct it often seems even more obscure. The menus in Canon’s D-series cameras are worlds simpler to use, and while they’re not analog, they are a lot closer to it.

2. Buttons. I hate having to fiddle around with the buttons to set the camera up for a shot. This whole way of doing things is so slooow. I long for the days of analog, when it was just aperture, shutter speed, and focus, all done with simple, easy-to-find-and-use controls. Can’t anyone other than Leica make a compact digital camera with simple controls?

3. The EVF. I have read that the Olympus VF-2 is the best of the electronic viewfinders and that the OMD is even better. I hope so, because I find the view through my Canon 5D better in every way than the VF-2. Kirk Tuck speaks highly about “pre-chimping,” but it just doesn’t seem to work that way for me.

4. General inconvenience. It seems that every time I pick up the camera it’s set wrong for what I want to do with it. So I have to fuss with the menus for a while before I can make the photo (assuming my subject is still there).

In the same vein, when I want to use the EVF, I usually find it’s set to display the LCD, and when I want to use the LCD it’s usually set to the EVF.