My name is __, and I'm addicted to 4/3

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by thenextpage, Jun 27, 2015.

1. thenextpage

thenextpage Mu-43 Regular

Oct 13, 2014
    I'm a hobbyist that admires photography.
    I love m4/3, started with the system in December 2013 and my fascination has grown ever since. My first body was the E-M5 with the 12-50 kit lens. Fast forward to now, and whoa! I've put way more money into this than I ever intended. My collection as of now (shared between my wife and I):
    • E-M1 body
    • E-M5 body
    • E-M5 mkll body
    • 12-40 2.8 Oly
    • 12-50 kit Oly
    • 40-150 2.8 Oly
    • 25mm 1.4 Pan
    • 45mm 1.8 Oly
    • 60mm 2.8 macro Oly
    • 75mm 1.8 Oly
    • Nissan i40 hotshoe flash
    • large collection of various B+W filters
    • a wide variety of misc accessories

This is funny to me because when we first bought the E-M5, it's intended use was to take a few shots here and there during special moments. Neither my wife nor I are or have ever been photographers. She hasn't picked up a camera in over 2 months. It's been about a month for me. So how do we have all this stuff?! I don't shoot all that often, but I continue buying all this stuff, somewhere deep down I feel as though I need it. I may have a problem.
  2. Amin Sabet

Amin Sabet Administrator

Apr 10, 2009
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Great kit!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

I think the answer is of course, some level of GAS.

Most of the kit actually makes perfect sense. You got a body + pro zoom kit, another body + fast prime kit, plus a macro and a TTL flash. Conceptually I have a similar kit (with slow zooms and a compact second body instead).

Do you really still need the E-M5 and 12-50 though, now that you have two other bodies plus the 12-40?
  4. Lcrunyon

Lcrunyon Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 4, 2014