1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

My lens selection for trip to Italy. Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Zubz, Jan 26, 2013.

1. Zubz

Zubz Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 13, 2012
    Hi All,

A couple months back I made a post asking for opinions on a lens I should buy for an upcoming trip to Italy. I got some very helpful replies and ending up making 2 purchases. My setup is as follows:

E-PL2
    Oly 14-42 kit lens
    Panasonic 20 1.7
    Oly 40-150

Bear in mind I am a relative amateur photographer just getting into the hobby. This was a fairly inexpensive lens selection I was able to put together. My goal was to have a variety of lenses to cover the various settings that Italy has to offer.... Rome, Venice, Florence, Tuscany.

So the question is, did I make good choices and will I have any regrets with my choices when I end up on my vacation? I don't mind picking up another lens and maybe resell after my trip is something is really lacking.

Thanks!

2. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

What kind of photography? Landscape? Architecture? Street? Different styles often dictate different lenses.

One thing I would suggest is to get the 14-150mm and use that instead of the two kit lenses. I love mine and it makes it easy to switch from a wide to a tele.

3. slothead

slothead Mu-43 All-Pro

Aug 14, 2012
    Frederick, MD
    Sounds to me like you're all set. The only other thing I would consider might be an electronic viewfinder for your E-PL2

4. Zubz

Zubz Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 13, 2012
    Those cities I mentioned will cover all of the above mentioned styles. Is there a downside to the 14-150 lens vs the two that I currently own?

5. dav1dz

dav1dz Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    Canada
    No time lost due to lens switching.

6. Zubz

Zubz Mu-43 Rookie

Aug 13, 2012
    I've been considering this. With the current rebate promotion I think I will pull the trigger on it. Thanks for the reminder.

7. Empireme