My Journey learning Resolve Studio after 10 years of Vegas PRO (edited 8/18/21)

D7k1

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
I've now done the complete beginners program on Resolve Studio 17 (RS17) about 15 hours and I am liking this somewhat gigantic, complex program. For most folks Vegas PRO (a very good program) might be a better choice but it is hard to beat the free version of Resolve. And in fact except for one project (a series involving a 3D main character) I would have continued to use Vegas PRO but upgrading only every other year. For serial projects or very large projects the work flow and tools of Resolve Studio are better for me. The power of Fusion is in fact pretty amazing as it is pretty simple once you understand the development process. A good key board and the speed editor (you can buy RS17 for $300 or you can buy RS17 & get the speed editor free for $300) make for a pretty robust editing system.

Besides industry leading color correction the work flow really leads to ordered project creation. Additionally the ability to test run a very powerful free version with hours and hours of training as well as a large selection of youtube videos I think is very important when considering an NLE.

I am using stills, 1080P to 5.6Kvideo and 3d characters in this project and so far with the use of proxies on the 5.6K video my old i7700/4200 mhz with 32 gigs of ram and an rx480 8 gig gpu is running well (3d rendering can take a long (very long) time. I use to strongly recommend Vegas PRO because you could buy the Movie Studio version for about $100 to test it. Now that Movie Studio is no longer, the free version of Resolve seems like a better track, especially since RS17 has a cut page for quick projects (for which the Speed Editor has dedicated buttons so no learning a hundred keys strokes).

I'll keep posting to this thread on how the project is working.

Last edited:

Replytoken

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Ken