My first post

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Jit Lye, Jun 11, 2015.

1. Jit Lye

Jit Lye New to Mu-43

Jun 4, 2015
    The Little Red Dot
    Hi all,

My first post here, and a question for the experts. I've been a casual photographer for a while and recently my interest in improving my skills has picked up. I've been taking pictures in JPEG only but I'm now trying to move to Raw images. I've set up my OMD EM5 to take Raw+JPG. When I uploaded the images, it turns out that the Jpegs are a crop of the raw images. Around 20% cropped. Is this normal?

Also, I'm learning what it takes to process a Raw image, reading as much as possible. So far, I've not managed to convert a raw image to a Jpeg image that is superior to the Jpeg image that came straight out the camera. Does that mean the camera software still converts to Jpeg better than my processing skills, or is there some other possible reason.

Thanks in advance!
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Drdave944

Drdave944 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 2, 2012
    Your jpegs may be set on a lower size. try setting superfine,giving you the biggest image but also there are also numerous selectable aspect ratios, as well as innumerable options some of which are incredibly abstruse,but which real experts in the camera may be able to explain. You get raw ,which is free of much in camera processing. There are numerous in-camera adjustments which will happen ,such as vivid,etc and can be preset by you ,in JPEG.
    It is hard to beat these for some pictures. If you have big differences in contrast,low light of really want to crop radically, raw give you more control. Sometimes they are about the same.
  3. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Hi, and welcome to the forum.

For the cropped jpeg: are you using an aspect ratio different from 4:3, like 3:2 for example? If so then is correct to have a cropped jpeg and the full sensor data in the raw file.