1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

My first Flash ???

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by PantelisMor, Dec 6, 2015.

1. PantelisMor

PantelisMor Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 14, 2013
    Good evening,

I am thinking to buy a flash in order to improve my portraits ... What is the best option ?? I am not a pro....

Plz your advices

2. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Are you aiming for mostly on run-and-gun and bounce flash on hot shoe/bracket or more controlled off camera?

3. JoFT

JoFT Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 11, 2014
    Stuttgart
    Johannes
    1. Do not use a flash on camera.
    2. I do recommand Yongnuo 560EXIII: They are cheap and pretty robust.
    3. Use wireless controllers like the Yongnuo 560TX (It controls the 560EXIII and IV)
    4. Buy a reasonably priced light meter: the yongnuos are manual, but easy to use with the controler.
    Maybe 2 nightstands and 2 umbrellas... And you are fine...

p1632455878-5.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  4. DaveEP

DaveEP Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 20, 2014
    York, UK
    Some reviews to help you along the way....

Yongnuo YN560-IV
    Yongnuo YN560-III
    Yongnuo YN560 Transmitter
    Nissin i40 (the one I carry with me the most)

The Yongnuo flashes are strictly manual. You have to know what you want out of them and set them up.

The Nissin i40 includes some automatics but very easy access to flash compensation (increasing / decreasing the brightness) via an easy to use rear dial.

Others to look at are Lumix, Olympus and Metz.

5. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
  6. Timmy

Timmy Mu-43 Regular

Dec 3, 2013
    Wiltshire - UK
    +1 for the Yongnuo 560 flash & 560TX transmitter. I got these to learn off-camera flash and improve my portraits.
    Very low cost, wireless, and has proved reliable. Obviously no TTL but that's no bad thing.

7. Jfrader

Jfrader Guest

For what camera and use?

8. So Thankful

So Thankful Mu-43 Veteran