My first camera G1

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by greye05, Aug 16, 2012.

1. greye05

greye05 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 14, 2012
    So hello,
    I'm new to all of this and i wanted to get in to photography and since my budget was too tight I decided to jump into m4/3 and learn the basic and advance skills. So when i have enough money, move to probable nikon d7000 or the new model by then.

A few hours ago I bought a used g1 for $136 in amazon since i plan to shoot with legacy lens. My budget was 250-300 the less the better. Like 1/2 an hour ago i bought several things for it here are the list:

SanDisk 16GB 16G Extreme SD SDHC Class-$20.00
    Gorilla Pod Camera Tripod- $13
    Both lenses are like new
    Minolta MD MC Lens Mount Adapter to Micro 4/3- $14
    plus the g1
    total= $240
    So what is a good beginners software to process raw images, and where can i find good tutorials to shoot manual.
    I'm exited for it to get here but i wont have it in my hands until september i think since the G1 was shipp to Connecticut first to my uncle and he would shipp it to Puerto Rico.
    Any suggestion on lenses, accessories, beginners stuff are more than welcome.
  2. veereshai

veereshai Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 12, 2011
    Arlington, VA
    Congratulations, the G1 is a lovely camera and you'll have lots of fun with it :smile:. I sold mine last week and I miss it already :(. I think, you're all set for now but since you do not have an AF lens, I'd suggest that you look at a 14mm/20mm lens next. But more than anything else, learn to love your gear and accept it the way it is and it'll give you more memories than photographs :smile:. And last but not the least, welcome to the micro four thirds club.

And before I forget, you can look at lightroom or the silkypix that comes with your camera for RAW processing.
  3. sLorenzi

sLorenzi Mu-43 Top Veteran

Sep 15, 2010