1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

My First Attempt at IR Photography

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by dtchan, Apr 15, 2012.

1. dtchan

dtchan Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 24, 2010
    This is my first attempt at IR photography. I must say is pretty fun but I'm still not sure if I'm doing it right. I bought the Hoya R72 Infrared filter for my Olympus 9-18mm which can also be used on my Voigtlander 25mm which I enjoy to use more simply I can easily just set focus to infinity. Since I no longer have the GH2, this was shot on the GF1. Exposure I think is about 20 seconds. I post processed to my liking afterwards, but I had trouble getting more colors out of it compared to photos I see on the web. My Raw file is orange.

6934566262_832e334e7f_b.
    Vancouver Cityscape by dtchan, on Flickr

7080634643_629e04fcd7_b.
    Vancouver Cityscape by dtchan, on Flickr

• Like Like x 2
  2. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    Midwest
    Paul
    Did you do the channel swapping? That is how the false color shots you mostly see are achieved. I usually just convert to b+w. The exposure is probably a little long here as well - to minimize the flare you might try holding your hand in front of the sun (seriously!) as long as it doesn't get in the frame - otherwise shoot with the sun behind you. That is the one thing about IR, it is sort of counter-intuitive - the best time to shoot (mid-day) is the worst time for regular photography!