My first astro... stars over Hocking Hills

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by sprocket87, Mar 26, 2015.

1. sprocket87

sprocket87 Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 29, 2011
    I enjoyed a little cabin getaway last weekend in Hocking Hills, Ohio, and thought I would try some star shots with my E-M5 Mark II. This is my first time doing this, so I'm sure I made a lot of mistakes, but I did learn a lot too. This shot is 20x 8-seconds with the Samyang 7.5mm f/3.5, wide open at ISO 1600.

I was surprised how much light pollution there still was despite being relatively remote. Kind of a cool effect though. I had a great view of the Big Dipper and Jupiter (top center-right)!

stack5-X2.

I used DSS to make 2 stacks, one with alignment on and one without, and then used Photoshop to blend the static subjects around the frame to avoid motion effects. Not the greatest blending job in the world but hey, I'm learning. This is my first time using DSS or doing any kind of stacking. Tips welcome!

Last edited: Dec 9, 2015
    • Like Like x 7
  2. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    Shooting stars with the fisheye is a fun choice.

3. protapic

protapic Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 12, 2011
    Cleveland, Ohio
    John
    Omg-I am camping there tomorrow night with the local Boy Scouts troop
    Not too psyched the temps are well below freezing for next too nights... But will bring gm1 to grab a few pics while hiking, and take my 7.5 fisheye as well

• Like Like x 1
  4. adamsmt2013

adamsmt2013 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 31, 2013
    With all of the international participation on this forum, I think it's awesome to see two members post about an area less than one hour from my house. I hope you have clear skies with the Boy Scouts.

Matt

• Agree Agree x 2
  5. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew