1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

My feelings on OMD Vs. XE-1

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Chronos, Dec 19, 2012.

1. Chronos

Chronos Mu-43 Regular

Oct 18, 2012
    Colorado
    Chris
    I own both of these now :)

Totally different cameras for sure. This is to be taken with a grain of salt, it is just my own poorly formed impressions

Keep in mind I could be wrong about some of this as I am still learning the XE-1. So there is no fanboi-ism here, just my initial impressions.

1) Autofocus

OMD's AF blazingly fast for single AF. It focuses in low light areas without the need of the focus lamp, very little hunting. The Continuous AF is not on par with the D7000.

XE-1's AF system is best not tested after using the OMD, because compared to the OMD it is laughable. It hunts in low light even with the AF lamp. It seems to work well enough with some decent light around.

2) Customization

The OMD is highly customizable, everything from the viewfinder, display, lens function, f1, f2, the list goes on. It is the most customizable camera I have ever had. Almost to the point of making things a bit confusing. It took a while but I now have it set to how I like it, and it is pretty easy to use. You can have the OLED and EFV display different things as well.

The Fuji XE1 is nowhere near as customizable. It has ONE function button, but you cannot even use the scroll wheel on the back to control it, you still have to use the thumb pad which means you have to pull it from your eye, seems kind of pointless. I would say this camera is not very customizable, if it were not for the Q button where you can scroll through pre-sets, but I would argue this is not customization, this just enables fast configuration changes. The screen and EFV will show the same info

3) EFV