1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

My E-PL7 seem to take blurry pictures (especially in self portrait mode) at low light. How to fix th

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by mootxico, Dec 14, 2014.

1. mootxico

mootxico Mu-43 Rookie

Dec 6, 2014
    I'm still new when it comes to proper shooting techniques. I've been using a mirrorless (e-pl1) for 3 years now. Just bought an e-pl7 as an upgrade this week.

It seems that whenever I try to take a self portrait in my room (it's not a brightly lit room) at night, the picture will 100% turn out blurry. It feels like the shutter takes a while to take a snap, too. This never happens when taking pictures during the day.

I've tried setting the ISO to 1600 (I usually take night shots at 800 ISO, mostly at f3.5 in Aperture mode), but the result is the same. I get blurry shots 6/10 times. Is there anything I can do about this?

2. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010
    Tripod (or any flat stable surface) and the self-timer. Try to hold still too. Otherwise you'll need to consider bumping up the iso further or a faster lens (f1.8 or better).

3. MarkRyan

MarkRyan Instagram: @MRSallee

May 3, 2013
    California
    (1) You should post some pictures to illustrate the issue you're talking about, with EXIF data. Based on your description, it's hard to say if it's missed focus, camera shake, or Vaseline.

(2) Likely the problem is camera shake. At f/3.5 in low light, you are probably getting long shutter speeds (~1/15 of a second). Steady hands can probably mitigate the issue because of the camera's stabilization, but if you're holding the camera out in front of you with your arms stretched it'll be hard to get a clear shot.